Manley's Blog

All-Shore Teams, Chat

Posted in Uncategorized by mattmanley on December 2, 2010

All Shore teams will be posted by Monday morning. I was shooting for Thursday, but I wanted to take some time on a few decisions. This weekend is football-heavy, so I don’t want to post the teams while there is a bunch of new football stuff going up, hence the Monday date. I’ll have an all-shore chat on Monday at 7 p.m. to discuss decisions, many of which have been very tough to make and as of this post, I still haven’t necessarily made them. And yes, we can debate CBA vs. Holmdel if you’d like. I know we have some Jets fans out there, so I’ll accommodate them with an earlier start.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You're asking for it said, on December 2, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    Do you really want to bring that debate on yourself? There is only one side that needs to complain.

  2. lol said, on December 2, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Yeah honestly, i feel bad for CBA since like…they didnt get a ring and Holmdel did. Lets drop it 🙂

  3. AR said, on December 2, 2010 at 10:47 pm

    Pussbag

  4. ERPP said, on December 5, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    HAHA damn right one side needs to complain (CBA). Holmdel Hornets, 2010 State Champs!

  5. RankingsRebel said, on December 6, 2010 at 2:28 am

    Hey Matt, most teams play a 4-4-2 and some play a 3-4-3 but rarely in this age of soccer do we see 4 forwards, so why have we historically seen all-shore teams with 4 defenders, 4 mids and 4 forwards? By doing this we make a higher perecentage of forwards eligible for all-shore than we do other positions. Forwards already get the glory because they finish the work started by their supporting cast, I mean we never see a headline that reads John Smith sets up the winning goal. So, let’s even things up, if you pick 4 forwards, then go with 5 defenders and 5 mids!

  6. lol said, on December 6, 2010 at 11:16 am

    yeah

  7. lol said, on December 6, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Centineo 7 goals 15 assists, and probably one of the hardest workers (State Champion)
    Castiglia 16 goals 5 assists (State Champion)
    Bond you’re “Mr. Clutch” with 13 goals (State Champion)
    Casey O’Gorman (State Champion) is one of the best in the shore and he didnt make not one of the teams, and not to mention you put Rishi Desai (State Champion) on the 3rd team. Were you at any of the games? You’re starting to scare me a little. I think a team like RFH can beat your first team allshore if you take Metzger off of it.

    • Ha said, on February 15, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      RFH couldnt beat RBR

  8. RankingsRebel said, on December 6, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Hey Lol, for your sake I hope you don’t pay the subscription fee, I know I don’t. Listen, I love the fact that this site broadens the coverage of HS Soccer, but some of the stuff on here is a joke. We all know that there are some excellent players out there that didn’t make it, including the few you named. It looks to me like this is more of a Matt’s favorites from the games he watched. Don’t get me wrong, the CBA midfield is talented, but no way do they deserve 3 spots across the the 1st 2 teams. There are players out there that simply don’t get enough press. I’m not from Holmdel, but I’m a bit shocked that neither Castiglia or Bond made at least 3rd team, especially with Colts Neck getting 2 2nd teamers. I think Bond’s strong State Play-offs hurt him and Castiglia. My guess is Matt wanted to get one of them in and couldn’t choose between the 2. And Matt, come on now, 2 goalkeepers yet we still stay with just 4 defenders and 4 mids on 2nd and 3rd teams. Well, now I know better than ever why college coaches don’t care about this crap.

    • mattmanley said, on December 6, 2010 at 1:22 pm

      I’ll respond to these comments as sort of warm-up for the chat, which should at least clear up a couple of things before we get started later.

      First of all, do you think college coaches should care about sites like this? Because I don’t. It’s a great way to read about a kid, but if a college coach is relying on my opinion of a kid to form a basis of evaluation, he probably won’t have a job for long. I am not anywhere near the level of a coach of any kind and I’ve never claimed that level of expertise when it comes to the all-shore teams. I’m simply someone with a journalism degree who has watched a whole lot of high school soccer players this season and has for the last four years. If you feel like that’s enough to hold these teams to some sort of higher standard, then I am humbled. If you ignore them because you don’t agree with the source from which they are coming, then I respect that too. It’s really that simple.

      Invariably, a lot of very good players get left off of All-Shore teams in any sport, so I certainly agree with the assessment that good players like Centineo were left off. Centineo was given heavy consideration, and to be honest, if you want to say he got snubbed, I can’t completely refute that, other than to give you the merits of the kids who did make it. As far Centineo goes, he didn’t do anything wrong, and cases like his make picking these teams my least favorite part of the job.

      Zach Bond and Alex Castiglia had great seasons too, but neither were as close as Centineo. Bond did not start for his team and while that team was really good, that puts him slightly behind the ball. Even if he did start, I don’t know if he makes it because like Castiglia, those guys were both left off the coaches’ all-county team, while Evan Teitelbaum made the team. That opinion happened to jive with my opinion, although I may have given Castiglia the nod over the other two on shear numbers. Personally, I thought Teitelbaum was the better player, but the team is based more on a fusion of performance and talent, and Castiglia certainly performed.

      And to RankingsRebel, I liked your suggestions as to how to reform the teams, but I didn’t read them until after the teams were picked. I don’t know why you expected your idea to show up in this year’s teams. I used the same format as last year and I didn’t hear any complaints about it then. If I were to reform the teams to reflect the actual positions, I would probably go with 3 forwards, 4 mids and 3 defenders, as well as a goalie, on each team. The current format actually is designed to be more inclusive and the two goalies was designed simply to give a little more representation to the position. Long story short, the format I have isn’t perfect and your proposal is noted and commended.

      In a way, this team is kind of Matt’s favorites, although I try to remove myself from it as much as I can. But at the end of the day, I have to make the call, so yeah, anyone who I watch play and think is especially good has somewhat of an advantage. But that doesn’t always get you the spot. Example: Kyle Dougher became a player I really liked watching over the last two years. He plays hard, clean, and he’s played great in big games. I tried to find a spot for him, but when I went back and forth with myself when making the call, I just couldn’t justify squeezing him on at the expense of anyone.

      I guess in summary, All-Shore is always going to create some hostility and I understand that and welcome anyone to voice their concerns that may have generated such feelings. I just ask that it be done in the spirit of debate and not out of anger.

  9. RankingsRebel said, on December 6, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Well said Matt. I appreciate the honesty and it helps put things in perspective. And by the way, while I don’t know much about the 2 Wall kids , I have no issues with your 1st team (not that I expect you to care). I will also say it’s not about my kid who is not on there and shouldn’t be and I will say again for the others out the that I’m not from Holmdel.

  10. Alright said, on December 6, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    Ok, so now saying that, Holmdel did have about 85 goals. Centineo having 7, Castiglia with 16, Bond with 13, and Teitelbaum just being the solid player he was. I understand that their were other kids that had pretty good seasons, but it seems to me that it probably wasnt the stats that helped you make your decisions, right? Not sure how you based each player and wasnt sure how their was not room for at least one of these kids to be on any of the teams. And yes Kyle Dougher is a good player and he definitely could have slipped in there too. But those were 4 Holmdel kids not including O’Gorman the defender that could have found a spot on one of the three teams.

  11. joe deluca said, on December 7, 2010 at 4:05 am

    Phil Cenetiempo was the backup outside right back for saint john vianney so how did he get second team a central?!

  12. Joe said, on December 7, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    how does ryan king get not first team from rbc. he was top 5 in scoring and was the only player on rbc

  13. soccer said, on December 7, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    there were about 10 kids with more goals than him, and some of those ten didnt make it

  14. wtf said, on December 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Its a popularity contest, it doesnt matter what these rankings say…these people dont know anything. I can name 10 kids that could have made 1st, 2nd or 3rd team that didnt. But Dan Metzgers is one of if not the best player in the state


Leave a Reply

