Manley's Blog

To the Marlboro Fans

Posted in Uncategorized by mattmanley on November 2, 2009

I’ve received a few comments and emails about me voicing an issue I had with the comments of one Marlboro fan following the SCT final. I never said the section as a whole was in the wrong and I completely reject the notion that the Marlboro fans were the least bit out of line with anything they said during the game. My issue was with one comment from one fan after the game was over, and with that said, it probably wasn’t even worth bringing up. No player needs someone to stick up for him,  and no one needs some guy who shoots video of soccer games to try serving as some sort of moral high ground for what a 16 or 17-year old kid says. I wasn’t trying to be that, but I can understand how it might have come across that way. Maybe sitting in enough Rutgers student sections for football and basketball games has made me understand that one person can make the whole group look bad, and I don’t want to make it seem as though the whole group is a bunch of misfits because I didn’t like the way one person went about showing his support. The Stang Gang adds a fun atmosphere to the game and I wouldn’t want to discourage that. So if it came across as self-righteous toward the entire group, I’m sorry.

I will now move back to the topic of soccer, which is why I’m working feverishly to get up a state tournament post to replace this one as the most recent entry.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just because said, on November 2, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    No apology needed Matt. It was your opinion and that is what blogs are for! If someone doesn’t agree, let them start their own blog or stop reading the blog.

  2. Shore Conference said, on November 2, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    When are you gonna start up Players of the Week and Top Ten plays of the Week again

  3. CH said, on November 2, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    No apology needed….maybe the one kid was out of line but hey best fans in the shore, and other teams may think were out of line, but were not and you can stand by the Stang Gang as being the best in the Shore.

  4. anorthfan said, on November 3, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Hey Matt.
    You do a GREAT job reporting on soccer. No comparison between Allshore and the APP. Its like Varsity to JV.

    Keep up the good work and your opinions are valued as you really know your stuff.


Leave a Reply

